Red Hot Chili Peppers Release New Song “Dark Necessities”


By Max Stewart

It has been nearly five years since their last official album, but the Red Hot Chili Peppers provided a highly-anticipated taste of their upcoming release The Getaway with the song “Dark Necessities” today.

Overall, “Dark Necessities” is a slow groove that bears resemblance to something off of 2006’s Stadium Arcadium, with an infectious chorus that will surely be sung by thousands in festivals / arenas across the world during their upcoming tour.  Flea dominates the verses with a slap-happy bass riff that is textbook RHCP, intertwined with some piano melodies (also performed by Flea).  Although the song deviates a bit from the straightforward funk-rock signature sound of the band, “Dark Necessities” represents the band embracing that they can incorporate dark themes into a down-tempo, piano-heavy sound and make it feel sincere and familiar.  In fact, singer Anthony Kiedis proclaims: “You don’t know my mind, you don’t know my kind, dark necessities are part of my design”.

A contributing factor to the band’s evolving sound could be the fact that they are shaking it up in terms of production of the new album.  “You and I both know, everything must go away,” Kiedis declares as the band chose to employ Danger Mouse as the producer of The Getaway, after a long tenure with Rick Rubin that dates back to Mother’s Milk (1989).  The change in production could breathe new life into the sound of the band and ultimately re-energize the unit as they hit the road and inevitably circle the globe a few times.

Be sure to mark your calendar for June 17th, when the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ 13-track album The Getaway will be released.


Track Listing

  1. “The Getaway”
  2. “Dark Necessities”
  3. “We Turn Red”
  4. “The Longest Wave”
  5. “Goodbye Angels”
  6. “Sick Love”
  7. “Go Robot”
  8. “Feasting on the Flowers”
  9. “Detroit”
  10. “This Ticonderoga”
  11. “Encore”
  12. “The Hunter”
  13. “Dreams of a Samurai”

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s